Ctrl+Alt+Humor: A Techie's Saga [1]

Ctrl+Alt+Humor: A Techie's Saga [1]

As I reflect on my career path in IT, I'm reminded that every journey is unique and worth sharing. Perhaps my experiences will resonate with others in the industry, or maybe they'll simply find my story entertaining. Either way, I hope that by sharing my unique perspective, I can provide some value to those who read it.

🤓 2005

As a kid, I was the ultimate study nerd. I was the kind of kid who would do homework for fun - yeah, I was that kid. But when I needed to take a break from all that intense learning, I turned to my trusty computer and my favorite old-school strategy video games. I'd spend hours building empires, commanding armies, and doing whatever it takes to win. And little did I know, all that time spent gaming was actually preparing me for a career in IT. Who knew that all those victories in "Red Alert 2" and "Age of Empires" would lead me to become the tech genius I am today?

🧪 2014

When it came time to choose a major in university, I found myself inexplicably drawn to Biotechnology at Bach Khoa University. Maybe it was because I wanted to impress my parents or maybe it was just a moment of pure madness, but either way, I found myself knee-deep in lab coats and test tubes. As it turned out, I was about as skilled at incubating microbes as I was at juggling flaming chainsaws 🤹 - which is to say, not at all. It didn't take long for me to realize that Biotechnology was definitely not my calling, and I quickly set my sights on greener pastures.

😿 2018 – First job

After enduring several internships at biology-chemical companies, I realized that I had about as much aptitude for science as a banana slug. So, I did what any self-respecting person would do - I quit and decided to pursue a career in something that actually made sense to me. And that's how I ended up working for a WordPress website development company in Ho Chi Minh City while also completing my biotechnology thesis during my last semester of university. It was a challenging time, but in the end, I managed to pull it off and complete my thesis while also passing my probation.

While working here, I learned some basic coding skills such as HTML, CSS, jQuery, and drag-and-drop tools. However, I soon realized that my company was more focused on meeting KPIs than on developing my skills. Additionally, I found that my income was lower than the market standard, despite having a good degree from a reputable school. In order to truly excel in my career, I knew that I needed to go beyond surface-level coding and learn the foundational principles of JavaScript.

🤑 2019 - My true destiny

After a year and a half of slaving away at the WordPress website development company, I finally decided to spread my wings and fly the coop. So, I brushed up my resume, put on my lucky interview socks, and hit the job market. I had my sights set on two different companies – one outsourcing was looking for a Front-end developer, while the other was on the hunt for an HTML coder at a Japanese company. It was like a game of career roulette, and I was excited to see where the chips would fall!

Well, it turns out that my stint at the Japanese company didn't exactly go according to plan and I ended up failing in my role there. As a result, I still harbor some biases against Japanese companies - I mean, who needs 'em anyway? But hey, I'm not one to dwell on the past. So, I packed up my keyboard and headed for greener pastures. I landed a gig at an outsourcing company, and let me tell you, it was like a breath of fresh air!

So, I landed a job at an outsourcing company, and my first project was...you guessed it, WordPress. But hey, I've become a bit of a WordPress wizard at this point, so I knocked it out of the park. Then, something magical happened - my lead approached me about working on a new project. But this wasn't just any project - it was the real deal, using VueJS and everything! I was over the moon with excitement - finally, a chance to branch out and work with some cutting-edge tech. Alas, the project ended up falling through before it ever made it to production, but I still look back on that moment with fondness.

After the excitement of the first project, I rolled up my sleeves and dove headfirst into more Vue2 projects. And let me tell you, I was a Vue2 master by the end of it. My JS skills were on point, and my income was finally starting to reflect that. But I didn't stop there - I was constantly on the lookout for new opportunities. I interviewed with more companies than a Hollywood starlet, and I always brought their offers back to the boss for some good old-fashioned salary negotiations. Hey, a front-end developer's gotta eat, right?

To be continued...

Buy Me a Coffee

if you find this article helpful 🧑‍💻

Thanks for reading Mike's Blog!
Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support our work.

I won't send you spam.
Unsubscribe at any time.